Commonwealth Writers Announces 2014 Short Story Prize Shortlist


Prize promotes strongest new stories from across the Commonwealth

The writers shortlisted for the 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize are revealed today. The Prize provides a platform for writers from the 53 countries of the Commonwealth to inspire others by bringing compelling short stories to a wider audience.

Regional winners for the Commonwealth Short Story prize will be announced on 14 May for each of the five regions: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. The overall winner will be announced in Kampala, Uganda, on 13 June to coincide with a series of Commonwealth Writers initiatives in East Africa.

This year unpublished stories were entered by almost 4,000 writers from the five regions of the Commonwealth: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. For the first time entries from the Cayman Islands, Mozambique, Swaziland and Tonga were received for the Prize. The judges reflect the five regions: Doreen Baingana, (Africa), Michelle de Kretser (Pacific), Marlon James (Caribbean), Courttia Newland (Canada and Europe) and Jeet Thayil (Asia). The Chair is Ellah Allfrey, Deputy Chair of the Council of the Caine Prize and previously Deputy Editor of Granta and Senior Editor at Jonathan Cape, Random House.

This year Commonwealth Writers is pleased to announce a new association with the London-based literary and media agency Blake Friedmann, who will work with selected writers identified through the Prize. It will also continue its partnership with Granta to give the overall and regional winners of the 2014 Prize the opportunity to have their story edited and published by Granta online.

Full list of shortlisted stories and authors:


Janine Mikosza, Monkey Boy, Australia
Michael Hunt, Playing the Stringless Guitar, Australia
Daniel Anders, Hummingbird, Australia
Lucy Treloar, The Dog and the Sea, Australia
Julian Novitz, Tenure, New Zealand
David Herkt, Rhododendrons in Mist, New Zealand


Adelehin Ijasan, Ikanre, Nigeria
Michelle Sacks, All Them Savages, South Africa
Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi, Let’s Tell This Story Properly, Uganda


Yu-Mei Balasingamchow, Grandmother, Singapore
Sara Adam Ang, A Day in the Death, Singapore

Canada and Europe

Idrissa Simmonds, On The Other Side, Canada
Jack Wang, The Night of Broken Glass, Canada
Tracy Fells, Household Gods, United Kingdom
Lucy Caldwell, Killing Time, United Kingdom
Luiza Sauma, Agnes Agnes Agnes, United Kingdom


Helen Klonaris, Cowboy, Bahamas
Maggie Harris, Sending for Chantal, Guyana
Charmaine Rousseau, Miss Annie Cooks Fish, Trinidad and Tobago

4 thoughts on “Commonwealth Writers Announces 2014 Short Story Prize Shortlist

  1. Are all the stories well read by the judges before final selection? Or are they just base on the shortlist made by famous writers? I read somewhere that so so winners were shortlisted by so so famous writers. If it is so, there is no need calling it competition because it is nomination.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s