Winners and shortlist for the 2015 small axe literary competition


Below, in alphabetical order, are the poets and short fiction writers shortlisted for the 2015 Small Axe Literary Competition. The winners, whose work will be published in Small Axe 50 (July 2016), are announced below, followed by information about our 2015 judges.

2015 Small Axe Literary Competition Shortlist


Jennifer Celestin

Summer Edward

Juleus Ghunta

Arielle John

Alicia Valasse

Hanétha Vété-Congolo

Short Fiction

Christine Barrow

Shakirah Bourne

Kevin Hosein

Hazel McShine

Brandon O’Brien

2015 Small Axe Literary Competition Winners

First Prize: Damian Femi Rene
Second Prize: Daisy Holder Lafond

Short Fiction
First Prize: Mark Ramsay
Second Prize: Gabrielle Bellot

2015 Small Axe Literary Competition Judges

Jacqueline Bishop
John Robert Lee
Lasana Sekou

Colin Channer
Curdella Forbes
Tiphanie Yanique

For original post, go to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s