RWL announces Winners of the Caribbean Readers’ Awards 2020

Rebel Women Lit (RWL) recently announced the Winners of the Caribbean Readers’ Awards 2020. Our warmest congratulations to all the winners (listed below).

As RWL explains, The Caribbean Readers’ Award recognizes outstanding works in Caribbean Literature. The prize is given to one fiction novel, YA novel, middle grade/tween novel, nonfiction works, short stories, and translated literature. RWL also recognized individuals who embody the spirit of Rebel Women Lit and have made recognizable contributions in their field and in the Caribbean Literature community. The selected awardees are highlighted as Rebel Women Lit Critics and Honorees.

For full list of winners, shortlists in each category, and additional information, go to Rebel Women Lit. See partial list of winners:

Best Novel (Adult) Tea by the Sea by Donna Hemans
Best Young Adult Novel: Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo
Best Middle Grade/Tween Novel: When Life Gives You Mangoes by Kereen GettenTranslated Works: The Sea Needs No Ornament / El Mar No Necesita Ornamento edited by Loretta Collins Klobah & Maria Grau Perejoan
Poetry: New Voices: Selected by Lorna Goodison, Poet Laureate of Jamaica, 2017-2020
Best Non-Fiction (Book): Wicked Flesh: Black Women, Intimacy, and Freedom in the Atlantic World by Jessica Marie Johnson
Non-Fiction (Individual Pieces):Cross Words in Lockdown: #WhatIAmDoingWithMyTime” by Olive Senior
Short Story (Collection) Stick No Bills by Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw
Short Story (Individual Pieces): “A Bright Future for Tomorrow” by Andre J P Warner

One thought on “RWL announces Winners of the Caribbean Readers’ Awards 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s