Finalists for The Story Prize


[Many thanks to Geoffrey Philp for sharing this item.] Aaron Robertson (The Hub) announces the finalists for this year’s The Story Prize. Authors with Caribbean roots Edwidge Danticat and Zadie Smith are two of the three finalists with Everything Inside and Grand Union respectively. U.S. Latina writer Kali Fajardo-Anstine (Colorado) with indigenous roots is the third finalist with Sabrina & Corina. The winner will be announced on February 26, 2020, at The New School in New York City.

The three finalists for this year’s Story Prize, which recognizes an outstanding short story collection and comes with a $20,000 award, were chosen from nearly one-hundred submissions. The Prize was established in 2004 by Julie Lindsey and Larry Dark to highlight exceptional achievements in the form.

The finalists are Edwidge Danticat’s Everything Inside (Knopf); Kali Fajardo-Anstine’s Sabrina & Corina (One World); and Zadie Smith’s Grand Union (Penguin Press). Danticat won The Story Prize once before, in 2005, for her collection The Dew Breaker. Other past winners include Tobias Wolff, Claire Vaye Watkins, Anthony Doerr, and Lauren Groff.

“We continue to be amazed by the quality and variety of the story collections we read each year,” prize director Larry Dark said. “These three powerful and affecting books artfully convey the interiority of their characters while also powerfully exploring the troubling complexities of the world we live in now.”

The Story Prize winner will be announced on February 26th at an event at The New School in New York City.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s