The Johnson and Amoy Achong Caribbean Writers Prize


At the 2018 NGC Bocas Lit Fest, a new prize—The Johnson and Amoy Achong Caribbean Writers Prize—was announced, sponsored by philanthropist Dr. Kongshiek Achong Low and administered by The Bocas Lit Fest and Arvon. The Achong Caribbean Writers Prize is now open for submissions. [For more information, see Bocas Lit Fest.]

This new prize is named after Johnson and Amoy Achong and commemorates their lives as loyal and hardworking citizens of Trinidad and Tobago whose children have continued to contribute to the building of the country. Dr. Achong Low is a medical practitioner and Chairman of Medcorp Limited.

The Johnson and Amoy Achong Caribbean Writers Prize is an annual award, which allows an emerging Caribbean writer living and working in the Anglophone Caribbean to devote time to advancing or finishing a literary work, with support from an established writer as mentor. The prize is offered across three literary genres: fiction in 2019, non-fiction in 2020, and poetry in 2021.

The Prize consists of a cash award of US$3,500; a year’s mentoring by an established writer; travel to the United Kingdom to attend a one-week intensive Arvon creative writing course at one of Arvon’s internationally renowned writing houses; and three days in London to network with editors and publishers, hosted by Arvon, in association with the Free Word Centre and a leading London literary agency.

The first winner of the Johnson and Amoy Chong Caribbean Writers Prize will be announced in 2019. The Prize will open for entries in mid-2018.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s