Caribbean-themed sessions at SAMLA 89

samlalogo145x170.png

The 89th Conference of the South Atlantic Modern Language Association (SAMLA) will take place November 3-5, 2017 in Atlanta, Georgia. The conference has as its overall theme: “High/Low Art: Borders and Boundaries in Popular Culture”. Here are a few sessions that will be of interest to Caribbeanists.

Paper proposals can still be submitted for these five sessions:

Borders and Boundaries in Popular French Caribbean Culture

Organizer: Lisa Connell, lconnell@westga.edu

Deadline has been extended: June 1, 2017

Breaking Boundaries and Racial Barriers through Music [in the African Diaspora]

Organizer: Sonja Watson at swatson1@uta.edu

Deadline: June 2, 2017

Caribbean Writers and the Art of Living in the Borderlands

Organizer: Derrilyn E. Morrison, derrilyn.morrison@mga.edu

Deadline: June 1, 2017

Creating Narrative Spaces in Which Borders Disappear and Emerge in US Latina/o and US Caribbean Literatures

Organizer: Forrest Blackbourn, fblackbourn@daltonstate.edu

Deadline: June 1, 2017

Identidades y diferencia cultural en el Caribe hispanico / Identities and Cultural Difference in the Hispanic Caribbean

Organizer: Jose Gomariz, jgomariz@fsu.edu

Deadline: June 2, 2017

The deadline for submission of abstracts has already passed for these four sessions:

Afro-Hispanic Literature and Arts: A Bridge between Continents

Organizer: Ana Zapata-Calle, azapata@westga.edu

A Tribute to Judith Ortiz Cofer (1952-2016)

Organizer: Rafael Ocasio, rocasio@agnesscott.edu

Storytelling in the Literature of Edwidge Danticant

Organizers: Megan Feifer, megan.feifer@edwidgedanticatsociety.org and Maia Butler, maia.butler@edwidgedanticatsociety.org

Time, Space, and Epistemic Violence in Hemispheric American Literature

Organizer: Jenna G. Sciuto, j.sciuto@mcla.edu

For additional information about the individual sessions and the overall conference, go to https://samla.memberclicks.net.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s