Jorge Rigau: 2017 Architectural Education Award Winner


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) recently announced the 2016-2017 Architectural Education Award Winners. Each year, ACSA honors architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship, and service. Award winners inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academy into practice and the public sector. Yale University’s Robert A.M. Stern won the 2017 AIA Topaz Medallion.

dp-rigauPuerto Rican architect, historian, and educator, Jorge Rigau won an award in the Distinguished Professor category. The ACSA site says: “For decades, Jorge Rigau has led students throughout cities in the Hispanic Caribbean, linking past efforts with contemporary possibilities. His course ‘History on foot’—walking various neighborhoods of San Juan—is a favorite at Polytechnic University’s School of Architecture.”

[On a personal note: I highly recommend my favorite of Rigau’s books: Puerto Rico 1900, Turn of the Century Architecture in the Hispanic Caribbean 1890-1930—stunning and informative.]

For more information, and a PDF of Rigau’s work, see

One thought on “Jorge Rigau: 2017 Architectural Education Award Winner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s