Lee “Scratch” Perry Announces New Album Must Be Free For September 2016 Release


A report by Joel Longini for mxdwn.com. See original report for music video.

According to Pitchfork, Jamaican musical sensation, Lee “Scratch” Perry, who has worked and inspired artists such as Bob Marley,  Paul McCartney , The Clash, Beastie Boys, and plenty others, has announced that he will be releasing a new studio album this year.

Must Be Free will be released on September 23rd, it is following up his 2014 Back on the Controls, and features a smattering of incredible musicians and producers. Subatomic Sound System, who is featured in the short documentary series for Intel’s Great Big Story Series, Groovematist, and Phlobi are just a few of the artist who helped Perry create this astounding 13-song collection.

The album will feature plenty of the sound that Perry is infamous for, but he has chosen to add a modern flare to his work due to all the emerging technology. The need to incorporate the modern world was too alluring for Perry not to use.

With the help of social media and the emerging online world, Lee “Scratch” Perry will be able to showcase his genius to the world even better than he used to. Hopefully this will mean a full tour to help support the new album and show the people what this man’s genius looks like on a live stage.

Must Be Free Official Tracklist:

01. Psycho Dread
02. Rat Race
03. House of Sin
04. Isabel
05. Jungle Tongue
06. No Evil
07. No Sorrow
08. On Nigeria
09. Strip Off
10. Too Much Is Too Much
11. Therapist
12. Must Be Free
13. House of Sin (Remix)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s