Tobago NGC Bocas Lit Fest 2015


Join Bocas Lit Fest in Tobago. The Tobago NGC Bocas Lit Fest events will be held at Scarborough Library, from July 9 – 11, 2015. Just two weeks away! Following on the heels of the 5th annual festival in Port of Spain, the Tobago festival will have at its heart a tribute to one of the Caribbean’s most accomplished and celebrated writers, Earl Lovelace, who is 80 years old this year. Happy Birthday, Earl!

Events are free and open to the public, except for writing workshops, which cost $100 and must be booked in advance by phone: 712-6227 (71-BOCAS) or email:

2f116b20-feb3-434a-b664-09425381f9b9Earl Lovelace (born July 13, 1935): Novelist, playwright and short-story writer Earl Lovelace was born in Toco, Trinidad and grew up in Tobago. He worked for the Trinidad Guardian, then for the Department of Forestry and later as an agricultural assistant for the Department of Agriculture, gaining an intimate knowledge of rural Trinidad that has informed much of his fiction. Using Trinidadian speech patterns and standard English, he probes the paradoxes often inherent in social change as well as the clash between rural and urban cultures.

He studied in the United States at Howard University, Washington (1966-7) and received his MA in English from Johns Hopkins University in 1974. In 1980 he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship and spent that year at the University of Iowa. After teaching at a number of other American universities, Lovelace returned to Trinidad in 1982, where he now lives and writes, teaching at the University of the West Indies.

His first novel, While Gods Are Falling, was published in 1965 and won the British Petroleum Independence Literary Award. It was followed by The Schoolmaster (1968), about the impact of the arrival of a new teacher in a remote community. His third novel, The Dragon Can’t Dance (1979), regarded by many critics as his best work, describes the rejuvenating effects of carnival on the inhabitants of a slum on the outskirts of Port of Spain. His other works include The Wine of Astonishment (1982), Salt (1996), Is Just a Movie (winner of 2012 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature), the essays Growing in the Dark (2003), the short-story collection A Brief Conversion and Other Stories (1988), and plays, such as those collected in Jestina’s Calypso & Other Plays (1984), among other works.

Check out all of the Tobago Festival Programme Highlights.

For more information, you may also visit

For more on Earl Lovelace, see and

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s