Caribbean Novelists Longlisted for IMPAC Dublin Award

Impacdublin-carbbean books (1)

Three Caribbean writers have been longlisted for the 2015 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. A-dZiko Simba Gegele’s All Over Again (Blue Moon Publishing), Robert Antoni’s As Flies to Whatless Boys (Akashic Books) and Kerry Young’s Gloria (Bloomsbury) are among the 142 titles contending for the prestigious award and its €100,000 prize.

The IMPAC Dublin is the world’s most valuable award for a single work of literature in English. The 2015 longlist, comprising titles nominated by libraries from 114 cities across the world, is dominated by American titles (37) but actually features books translated from 16 languages.

Simba Gegele is among the 29 debut novelists on the longlist. Earlier this year, All Over Again copped in the inaugural Burt Award for Caribbean Literature. As Flies to Whatless Boys is the 2014 winner of the OCM Bocas Prize. Antoni is also the author of Davina TraceBlessed is the Fruit and My Grandmother’s Erotic Folktales. Young is also the author of Poa which was nominated for Cost First Novel Award and the Commonwealth Writers Prize.

The 2015 list includes winners of some of the world’s major literary prizes. These include The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and The Good Lord Bird by James McBride, winner of the 2013 National Book Award.

The 2015 judging panel is chaired by Eugene R. Sullivan and features five judges: Irish novelist Christine Dwyer Hickey, winner of the Irish Novel of the Year 2012 for The Cold Eye of Heaven; Valentine Cunningham (British) Professor of English Language and Literature at Oxford University; Daniel Hahn (British) award winning translator, writer and  editor, Chair of the Society of Authors; Kate Pullinger (Canadian) winner of The Governor General’s Award for Fiction and Professor of Creative Writing and Digital Media at Bath Spa University; Jordi Soler (Mexican/Spanish) author of books of poems, story collections, and ten novels translated  into several languages and a regular contributor to newspapers and magazines in Spain and Mexico.

The 2015 winner of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award will be announced June 17, 2015.

See article by Tanya Batson-Savage (for Susumba) here

One thought on “Caribbean Novelists Longlisted for IMPAC Dublin Award

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s