OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2015 Open for Entries

2014 ocm bocas category winners covers

The fifth OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature is now open for entries. It is the region’s largest literary prize and has become much sought after by Caribbean writers all over the world who qualify by being of Caribbean birth or citizenship.

The cross-genre OCM Bocas Prize is judged in three categories: fiction, non-fiction and poetry, by judges from all over the Caribbean and its diaspora and is open to books published in the calendar year 2014. The overall winner, selected from the three category winners, will receive an award of US$10,000, and in 2015 the two other category winners will also receive cash prizes.

The OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature is unique in rewarding literary excellence in this region, and it has contributed much to raising the profile of Caribbean writers. After being announced as the 2013 Prize winner, Archipelago by Monique Roffey was chosen by her publisher as its “summer read”. The book’s cover image was mounted on large posters in the busy London Underground stations for the duration of the British summer.

“This contributed directly to increased sales for the author and will almost definitely lead to more opportunities for our writers to be published and promoted,” says Marina Salandy-Brown, director and founder of the NGC Bocas Lit Fest, at which the prize is presented annually.

The OCM Bocas Prize includes debut and self-published books in the overall judging, giving a huge boost to those newcomers recognised by the judges. Tiphanie Yanique’s debut short story collection was named the 2011 fiction winner, alongside esteemed veterans Edwidge Danticat, the non-fiction winner, and Derek Walcott, the poetry and overall winner. Yanique’s second publication, a novel entitled Land of Love and Drowning, is one of this year’s most hotly anticipated new releases in Caribbean literature.

As in 2013, the 2014 overall winner was a novel, As Flies to Whatless Boys by Trinidadian writer Robert Antoni. White Egrets, the poetry collection by Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott, won in the inaugural year of the Prize, and Earl Lovelace’s novel Is Just a Movie took home the 2012 Prize.

For further information about the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, contact info@bocaslitfest.com.

The NGC Bocas Lit Fest, sponsored by the National Gas Company of Trinidad and Tobago as title sponsor, is also supported by the Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development, Courts, First Citizens and Flow. One Caribbean Media is sponsor of the OCM Bocas Prize. www.bocaslitfest.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s