The 2015 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize—Deadline Approaching


The organizers of the Hollick Arvon Prize remind our readers that the deadline for submissions is fast-approaching: 6:00pm on September 30, 2014. 

The 2015 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize will be awarded to an emerging writer of poetry. The Prize, administered by The Bocas Lit Fest and worth a total of US$15,000, will give the winning Caribbean-based writer time to advance a poetry collection. It includes a year’s mentoring by an established poet and travel to the United Kingdom to attend a one-week intensive creative writing course of their choice at Arvon.

The winning writer will also have three days in London to network with literary professionals, hosted by the UK’s leading creative writing organisation, Arvon, in association with Free Word Centre and agents Rogers, Coleridge & White, and receive a cash award of £3,000 or US$4,500.

This is year 3 of the Prize. In 2013, the Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers prize was for fiction and was won by Barbara Jenkins of Trinidad and Tobago. In 2014, Jamaican, Diana McCaulay took home the prize for non-fiction. The winner of the 2015 Hollick Arvon Caribbean Writers Prize will be announced on Saturday 2 May, 2015 at Trinidad and Tobago’s annual literary festival, the NGC Bocas Lit Fest, in Port of Spain.

To qualify, writers must simply be of Caribbean birth or citizenship, aged over 18, living in the region, and not yet published a poetry collection. Full details of how to enter are on our website here.

For more information, email us at

For original post, see

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s