Jamaica Kincaid wins American Book Award

Jamaica Kincaid

Author Jamaica Kincaid and film critic Armond White are among the winners of the 35th annual American Book Awards, which celebrate multiculturalism and free expression, the Associated Press reports.

The Before Columbus Foundation announced Tuesday that Kincaid was cited for the novel “See Now Then.” White received an “Anti-Censorship Award” because of his being “unfairly removed” from the New York Film Critics Circle. In January, he was expelled after allegedly heckling “12 Years a Slave” director Steve McQueen at the group’s annual awards banquet. White, known for his contrarian views, has called the allegations a “barrage of lies.”

Other winners include Andrew Bacevich’s nonfiction “Breach of Trust” and Alex Espinoza’s novel “The Five Acts of Diego Leon.” The awards will be presented Oct. 26 in San Francisco.

The Before Columbus Foundation is a nonprofit founded by author-playwright Ishmael Reed.

2 thoughts on “Jamaica Kincaid wins American Book Award

  1. Reblogged this on Zezee with Books and commented:
    I am happy for Jamaica Kincaid. I must admit, I first read her book Lucy in high school only because her first name is Jamaica and I thought that was where she’s from. Silly me. Kincaid is actually Antiguan. It took a while to work up and interest in Lucy but it was an okay read. I think this honor is well deserved. Congrats, Jamaica Kincaid!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s