Emancipation Day celebration honours Bermuda’s heroes

Earl Cameron is one of the Community Heroes being honoured on Sunday.
Earl Cameron is one of the Community Heroes being honoured on Sunday.

The Bermuda Department of Community and Cultural Affairs today announced the official programme to commemorate Emancipation Day 2013.  The programme will honour Community Heroes from Pembroke Parish and will be held at The Berkeley Institute on Sunday, July 28, 2013 commencing at 7 p.m. 

Heather Whalen, Senior Community and Cultural Affairs Officer, stated, “Last year, we shifted the programme focus and it was well-received by the audience. Instead of featuring aspects of slave experiences, we have refaced the event to bring attention to those people of African descent who have contributed significantly to the development of their respective communities.”  She added, “Last year, we focused on Sandys and St. George’s Parish residents, clubs and organizations. This year, we will celebrate the contributions of “Community Heroes” from Pembroke Parish whose selfless efforts helped to build their communities. ”

The Department of Community and Cultural Affairs along with the members of the Emancipation Committee are of the view that the Emancipation Act of 1834 offered so much more to the black community than freedom. It gave each individual the opportunity to make a difference and affect their personal sphere of influence. Thus, with the theme “The Trail of Our People: The Social Dynamics of Self-Reliance” it is our aim to raise awareness about the people who have shaped and molded our island home, Bermuda.

Families of the honourees will be acknowledge and are encouraged to attend.  The programme will feature music, entertainment and dance as well as the biographies of the Community Heroes.

This year’s Community Heroes are:


Dame Marjorie Bean

Dr. Kenneth E. Robinson

Victor and Edna Mae Scott

Rev. Dr. Merle Brock Swan Williams

Millie Neverson

Julian Tucker

Alpheaus ‘Ardie’ Black

Mayor Cecil Dismont

Alfred Brownlowe Place

William Henry Thomas Joell

Vernon Jackson

Horace Francis Leopold Musson

William Francis Wilson II

Agnes Mae Robinson

Canon Thomas Nisbett

Lancelot Hayward

Earl Cameron

Alma “Champ” Hunt

Ruth Seaton James

Judge Earle Seaton

Wesley Leroy Tucker

The Brangman Sisters – Olga, Mona, Mary


Founders of the Berkeley Institute

Samuel David Robinson

Joseph Henry Thomas

Richard Henry Duerden

William Henry Thomas Joell

Eugenius Charles Jackson

Charles William Thomas Smith

William Orlando F. Bascome

John Henry Jackson

Samuel Parker Sr.

Samuel Parker Jr.

Henry T. Dyer

Founders of the Progressive Labour Party           

Wilfred “Mose” Allen

Walter N. H. Robinson

Hugh “ Rio” Robinson

Robert Austin Wilson

Albert “Peter” Smith

Dilton Cann

Edward deJean

Founders of the Bermuda Workers Association

Gerald Brangman

Robert Austin Wilson

William A. Davis

Founders of the Bermuda Union of Teachers

Adele Tucker

Matilda Crawford

Edith Crawford

Rev. Rufus Stovell

Leaders of the Bermudiana Theatre Club Protest

Carol Hill

Hilton Hill

Georgine Hill

Eva Robinson

Young Men’s Friendly Institute

For the original report go to http://www.bermudasun.bm/Content/LIFESTYLE/Lifestyle/Article/Emancipation-Day-celebration-honours-Bermuda-s-heroes/9/230/68775

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s