Two CARICOM Countries Blacklisted by France


Two Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries, oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago and Dominica, are included in a list of countries blacklisted by France because they do not help investigate foreign aid fraud. Panama and Costa Rica are also on the list.

French officials said that the list was drawn up after Paris decided that it would additionally ban the use of their banks to help distribute development funds. Aides to Development Minister Pascal Canfin were unable to say how much French foreign aid currently transits via banks in the countries featured on the new blacklist.

The blacklist expands on an established register of eight “non-cooperative states and territories” that already includes Botswana, Brunei, Nauru, Guatemala and the Philippines. The list now includes Switzerland, Lebanon, Panama, Costa Rica, the United Arab Emirates, Dominica, Liberia, Trinidad and Tobago, and Vanuatu.

For original article, see

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s