The 2013 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature

logoThe Trinidad and Tobago based OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature for 2013 is now open for submissions.  For the 2013 prize, a book must have been published in the calendar year 2012, and written by an author born in the Caribbean or holding Caribbean citizenship. Books—in three categories: poetry, fiction, and literary non-fiction—must also have been originally written in English. The prize includes an award of US$10,000.

The inaugural OCM Bocas Prize, presented in April 2011, was won by Derek Walcott’s White Egrets, and the 2012 Prize was won by Earl Lovelace’s Is Just a Movie. The OCM Bocas Prize has two stages. First, panels of distinguished judges will select the best book in each of the three genre categories. Next, the chairs of the poetry, fiction, and non-fiction panels, joined by the overall chair and vice-chair of the prize, will form a final prize jury to select the overall winner from the three genre winners.

The winner of the 2013 OCM Bocas Prize will be announced on 27 April, 2013, at the third annual NGC Bocas Lit Fest. Books published before 31 October, 2012, should be received by the judging panels by 16 November, 2012. Books published between 1 November and 31 December, 2012, must be received by 9 January, 2013. Books that arrive after the deadline dates will not be considered.

For further information about the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, contact

Download full submission guidelines and the official entry form here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s