UWI-Cave Hill Professor Wins Prestigious CARICOM Award

University of the West Indies-Cave Hill’s Dr. Violet Eudine Barriteau, deputy principal and professor of gender and public policy, will receive the 10th Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Triennial Award for Women for her remarkable contribution to the field of gender and development and her role as “a powerful exemplar of self-respect, self-discipline, vision and leadership.”  The award will be presented to Dr. Barriteau during the opening ceremony of the upcoming 32nd regular conference of CARICOM heads of government in St. Kitts.

The Triennial Award for Women was introduced in 1983 to recognize and honor Caribbean women who have made significant contributions to socio-economic development at the national and regional levels.

The Grenadian-born Barbadian citizen has served both the regional and national education sectors with distinction for nearly 40 years, first as a classroom teacher of History and English, then as a researcher and professor of gender studies, and now providing academic and administrative leadership as the deputy principal at the Cave Hill campus of the UWI in Barbados.

Dr Barriteau’s illustrious career is underpinned by an equally impressive academic sojourn, which took her to the rung of Doctor of Philosophy in political Science, earned at Howard University. A strong advocate of gender and development, she has made phenomenal contribution to the advancement of women’s empowerment and gender equality through her advocacy, teaching, research and publications. A prolific researcher, writer and presenter, Dr Barriteau has authored one book on gender, The Political Economy of Gender in the Twentieth Century Caribbean, contributed articles and chapters to a plethora of publications and edited several others, while finding time to make presentations at national regional and international seminars primarily on gender related issues.

Dr Barriteau joins a band of nine select women who have made significant contributions at the national and regional level in various fields of endeavours that have impacted the social and economic development of the Caribbean Community.

The first Triennial Award was made in 1984 to Ms. Nesta Patrick, a national of Trinidad and Tobago. Thereafter, eight outstanding Caribbean women have received this prominent award for their dedication and determination in broadening the parameters of existence for women and improving their economic, social, political, cultural and legal status. The list includes: the late Dame Nita Barrow, national of Barbados in 1987; Dr. Peggy Antrobus, a national of Grenada and citizen of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, 1990; Ms. Magda Pollard, national of Guyana, 1993; Dr. Lucille Mair, national of Jamaica, 1996; Prof. Joycelin Massiah, national of Guyana and citizen of Barbados, 1999; Prof. Rhoda Reddock, national of Trinidad and Tobago, 2002; Justice Desiree Bernard, national of Guyana in 2005 and Dr Barbara Bailey, Jamaica, in 2008.

For original article, see http://www.caribbeanlifenews.com/stories/2011/6/2011_06_28_sub_triennial_award.html

For more on Dr Barriteau, see http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/GENDER/staff/profiles/eudine-barriteau.aspx/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s