Winners of the 2011 OECS Triathlon Championships

Over 200 hundred athletes from Grenada, the Caribbean at large, United States, United Kingdom, and Canada gathered at Port Louis Marina last week (May 1) for the 2011 Tri de Spice, Grenada’s 24th annual international triathlon and OECS [Organization of Eastern Caribbean States] championships.

The Digicel Olympic and Deco Sprint events were hotly contested for both the men’s and women’s race at the Olympic distance, starting with a one-mile swim, immediately followed by a 25-mile bike course, and then a 6-mile run to the finish line.

The men’s race was won by Ancil Greene of Trinidad and the women’s race by Clare Morrall of Grenada. Morrall also finished as Grenada’s National Female Olympic Champion and OECS Female Olympic Champion. Danny Donelan, a close second overall, finished as OECS Male Olympic champion and Grenada’s Male National Olympic Champion.

The Sprint Distance race was won by Inga Karasek of Canada and Akil Baptiste of Trinidad. Aislinn Noel secured the OECS Female Sprint Champion and Grenada National Champion for the women with Troy Felix winning the Grenada National Male Champion title and Andre Simon of Antigua winning the OECS Male Champion title.

The Grenada International triathlon has been selected to host the Caribbean Championships in 2012 to celebrate its 25th anniversary.

For full article, see

For more on the OECS, see

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s