Dominica’s Lennox Honychurch Receives Award for Excellence

On April 9, 2011, Dominica’s distinguished historian and political scientist Dr. Lennox Honychurch (second from the left) and Trinidad and Tobago’s Dr. Kim Johnson and Professor Surujpal Teelucksingh (both on right) received the Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence at a grand ceremony at Hilton Trinidad in St Ann’s. Present at the function were Michael K. Mansoor, chairman Regional Eminent Persons Selection Panel and Dr. Anthony Sabga, chairman of the ANSA McAL Foundation. 

In his address, Mansoor paid tribute to past and present laureates including St Lucia’s Adrian Augier and Dr. Kathleen Coard. He explained, “The Foundation has provided them with $6.0 million to facilitate their work. We know all our laureates have continued to be as productive and energetic as they always are. We know their work has borne great fruit.” Sabga said, “Dr. Kim Johnson has made his life’s work in our collective imagination, preserving our memories and ancestral stories. Prof. Teelucksingh has made his life’s work in looking at the everyday things that affect our lives. Dr Honychurch has devoted his life to ensuring his island country Dominica and the Caribbean remember their past and preserve their heritage.” 

The Anthony N Sabga Foundation is unique in the Caribbean and serving to promote excellence in the arts, sciences and public/ civic contributions, it give annual/ bi-annual prizes for those it considers to be meriting in the fields. The foundation is owned by the ANSA McAL Group of companies.

For full article, see and

Also see

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s