Mexico Wins Caribbean World Series Title

The Mexican champions, the Yaquis of Obregon won the 2011 Caribbean World Series Monday night with a 3-2 win against Venezuela’s Caribes of Anzoátegui. The Mexican club finished with a 4-2 record to mark the first Caribbean Series title in franchise history and the first championship for the country since taking the crown in 2005 in Mazatlán, Mexico.

This is also marks the sixth Caribbean World Series championship for Mexico.  

The Most Valuable Player award was given to the Yaquis’ Jorge Vázquez who batted .310 in the series with 6 RBI’s while hitting two home runs. One of his home runs was a game winner against the Venezuelan champion, the Caribes of Anzoátegui in a 3-2 win.

The Puerto Rican champs, the Criollos of Caguas had to win a decisive game against the  Toros of the East from the Dominican Republic, in order to force a playoff game against Mexico’s Yaquis.

The Dominican team crushed Puerto Rico’s dreams with a win, giving Mexico the title.

The 2012 Caribbean World Series will be held in the Dominican Republic but a city has yet to be chosen

For the original report go to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s