The Dominican Republic and Mexico Will Open the 2011 Caribbean Baseball Series

The Dominican Republic and Mexico will open the 2011 Caribbean Baseball Series [Serie del Caribe], which will take place from February 2 to 7 at the stadium Isidoro ‘Cholo’ García, in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico. The games will be broadcast live from Mayagüez on ESPN Deportes.

Defending champion Dominican Republic, represented by the Leones of Santo Domingo, won the 2010 edition in Isla Margarita, Venezuela, beating the home team Leones of Caracas, 7 to 4.

Since 1949, the Caribbean Series, or Serie del Caribe, is the highest baseball tournament at club level in Latin America.  It is a 12-game round robin tournament between the best teams of Mexico, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. The tournament is hosted at each country every four year and is normally played in February after all the leagues have ended their national tournaments. The tournament has served as a platform to showcase the best competition of Winter League Baseball and is sanctioned by Major League Baseball.

Major League players who have participated in Winter League baseball include legends such as Roberto Clemente, Fernando Valenzuela, David Concepción, and Juan Marichal. Current players who have developed their skills in Winter League ball include Johan Santana, Carlos Beltrán, Robinson Cano, and Miguel Cabrera, among others.

For articles (in Spanish), see  and 

Photo: New York Yankees’ Alex Rodriguez, fourth right, runs along teammates of the Dominican Republic baseball team during a practice session in Boca Chica, Dominican Republic in 2009. See

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s