Dany Laferrière Will Be Awarded 2010 Blue Metropolis International Literary Grand Prix


Haitian-born Québécois writer Dany Laferrière has been announced as the recipient of the 2010 Blue Metropolis International Literary Grand Prix, awarded each year to mark “a lifetime of literary achievement by a writer of international reputation.” The $10,000 Blue Metropolis International Literary Grand Prix is given annually at the Blue Metropolis Montreal International Literary Festival. The 2010 event will take place April 21-25, 2010, at the Delat Centre-Ville Hotel in Montreal.

Past recipients of the prize include A.S. Byatt (2009), Daniel Pennac (2008), Margaret Atwood (2007), Michel Tremblay (2006), Carlos Fuentes (2005), Paul Auster (2004), Maryse Condé (2003), Mavis Gallant (2002), Norman Mailer (2001), and Marie-Claire Blais (2000).

southDany Laferrière has witten 16 novels. In French, his most recent publication is the childern’s book La fête des morts (The Feast of the Dead) [also see previous post Dany Laferrière’s new book for children La fête des morts]. He was awarded the Prix du Gouverneur Général in 2006 for his previous book for children, Je suis fou de Vava. His most recent book in English is Heading South (a translation of Vers le sud) published by Douglas & McIntyre.

For full article (in English), see http://network.nationalpost.com/np/blogs/afterword/archive/2009/10/27/dany-laferri-232-re-awarded-2010-blue-metropolis-international-literary-grand-prix.aspx

For full article (in French), see http://www.haitipressnetwork.com/news.cfm?articleID=12791

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s