The “Antología Personal” Series: Rosario Ferré


Puerto Rican writer Edgardo Rodríguez Juliá has been recapturing contemporary work by the leading Caribbean voices of the 20th century. He leads the series “Antología Personal,” editing books that encapsulate the essence of each writer.  Among the new editions he has produced this year are three leading writers from the Hispanophone Caribbean—Juan Bosch, Rosario Ferré, and José Luis González.

Antología Personal: Rosario Ferré (2009) includes representative texts from three distinct moments in the writer’s literary production. The first comprises the short stories and novella characterized by the fantastic and feminist protest in Papeles de Pandora and Maldito Amor [Sweet Diamond Dust], where she experiments with Puerto Rican popular language; the second period includes her novels La casa de la laguna [House on the Lagoon], Vecindarios excéntricos [Eccentric Neighborhoods] and Vuelo de cisne [Flight of the Swan]; and the third consists of her essays, where she debated the concept of a distinctive “women’s” writing and its aesthetic possibilities as well as patriarchal hegemony in Latin American cultures.

Rosario Ferré (Ponce, 1938), one of Puerto Rico’s major authors, began to write professionally at age 14. As a student at the University of Puerto Rico-Río Piedras, she was the founder (along with late writer Olga Nolla) and editor of the journal Zona de Carga y Descarga. A prolific writer, Ferré holds a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland and has taught at the University of Puerto Rico-Río Piedras, Rutgers University, and Johns Hopkins University. [Also see Rosario Ferré to Exhibit Her Watercolors at Artists’ Flea Market.]

Edgardo Rodríguez Juliá teaches literature at the University of Puerto Rico-Río Piedras. His many works include Las tribulaciones de Jonás (1981), El entierro de Cortijo (1983), La noche oscura del niño Avilés (1984), Una noche con Iris Chacón (1986), Campeche o los diablejos de la melancolía (1986), Álbum de Puertorriqueños la sagrada familia (1988), Camino de Yyaloide [1994), Sol de media noche (1995), Cartagena (1997), and Pelotero (1997).

For purchasing information, see and

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s